Rank Progression in Budoshin Ju-Jitsu

Growth in technical knowledge, effective self-defense techniques, and rank progression in Budoshin Ju-Jitsu is based on 1] your cumulative knowledge and improvements in performance of kata [forms & techniques] such as hip throw, drop throw, hand throw, wristlock takedown, nerve attacks, shoulderlock takedown, etc., and 2] your ability to apply your learned skills to waza [self-defense] against attacks such as hits, chokes, body/wrist grabs, and weapon attacks. Previously learned forms and techniques are reviewed and applied to different self-defense situations as you progress in the art.


Your goal in going through this process is to 1] develop technique proficiency adequate to meet various rank/belt requirements and 2] to develop a personalized self-defense system based upon the skills you have learned and your physical capabilities.


You are not expected to be perfect in the execution of every technique taught even as you progress in rank, but you will improve in your overall technical proficiency regardless. You will get better as you progress in the art and you will find certain techniques that are more suited to your physical capabilities. You are also not expected to respond to street attacks in the exact same manner as any other student as your technical background, expertise, and training experience will help determine what you actually do in a random attack situation

The specific belt rank requirements for each rank are specified in the Student Handbook [kyu grades 7-1] and the Black Belt Handbook [dan grades 1-10]. These handbooks are included for free as part of your Budoshin Ju-Jitsu Yudanshakai or Budoshin Ju-Jitsu Dojo membership or they may be purchased on this website by clicking here.


Generally you will be evaluated for promotion in two areas, your mat skills and your knowledge/practice of appropriate rules of conduct for a person of the rank level you are aspiring to. In addition, the mat exam is broken down into two areas [kata and waza] as described in the first paragraph. Again, all of this information is in the Student and Black Belt Handbooks.


Kyu Grade Promotions

As you progress through the kyu grades [below black belt] you will acquire the following skills:


Belt Rank

Kata Taught

Kata/Waza Tested-On

7 – White Belt [new]

0 [new student]


6 – Green Belt

14 kata or techniques


5 – Blue Belt

13 + review


4 – Purple Belt

13 + review


3 – 3rd Brown Belt

10 + review

10 random kata chosen out of 24 random waza chosen out of 25

2 – 2nd Brown Belt

9 [in addition to 27]

Same as above

1 – 1st Brown Belt

2 [in addition to 36]

Same as above


Also, be aware that from 7th-4th kyu [white thru purple belt] you are essentially learning new techniques and some variations of those basic techniques. From 3rd-1st kyu [brown belt levels] you’re essentially smoothing out your technical skills and performance with only few new techniques and variations added.


Dan Grade Promotions

Jack Seki, Sensei

For 1st degree Black Belt [Shodan] you will be expected to effectively demonstrate  5 or more randomly selected kata [forms] out of 25 listed kata and and 2 or more of each selected 5 or more [out of 33] waza [defensive responses] from the kata and waza lists in the Black Belt Handbook. There are additional mat and non-mat requirements for each dan grade specified in the Black Belt Handbook. Check the Black Belt Handbook for complete details and requirements. 


Black Belt grades [1st-10th dan] are essentially teaching grades in Budoshin Jujitsu as well as most other traditional styles of Japanese jujitsu. As Jack Seki, my sensei, said when he promoted me to shodan, “Now that you have been promoted to shodan you are ready to start learning the art!” Although you will continue to grow in your knowledge and proficiency in the art, it is also hoped that you will acquire the skills necessary to help others learn and advance in the art of Budoshin Jujitsu